Celebrations: June 21

June 20, 2012


The following students from Wauwatosa made the spring semester dean's list at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater: Nicholas Abild, Kristin Bates, Samuel Culver, Elizabeth Gade, Cameron Gaskin, Paul Gerhartz, Kevin Gorman, Brittany Gross, Lauren Heller, Nicholas Lex, Kyle Manske, Kayla Meyer, Lance Mielke, Meghan Quinn, Ian Ribar, Paul Robarge, Thomas Sherry, Corine Thorp, Joshua Wasrud and Joseph Wirtz.

Ainsley Hobbs of Wauwatosa made the spring semester dean's list at Crown College in St. Bonifacius, Minn.

Allison Wier of Wauwatosa made the spring semester dean's list at Trinity Christian College in Palos Heights, Ill.

Whitney Jenich of Wauwatosa made the spring semester dean's list at Creighton University in Omaha, Neb.

Jonathan DesChane and Marisa Strothenke of Wauwatosa made the spring semester dean's list at St. Norbert College in DePere.


Wauwatosa East High School junior Isaiah Simons received an Americanism and Government Scholarship worth $250. Competitors from Wisconsin schools completed a 50-question, timed test divided into four areas: the U.S. flag; Wisconsin government and history; county government; and U.S. government and history. In addition, the students were required to write an essay.

Michael Meade, a 2012 graduate of Wauwatosa East High School who plans to attend St. Cloud State University in Minnesota in the fall, earned a $500 scholarship from the National Multiple Sclerosis Society Wisconsin Chapter. The society's scholarship program helps students affected by multiple sclerosis pursue higher education.


Dennis R. McBride of Wauwatosa received the 2012 Alumni Citizenship Award from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, recognizing significant voluntary service. McBride earned his bachelor's degree in journalism in 1976 from UWM, and he holds a master's degree in public affairs from Princeton University and a doctorate from the New York University School of Law. As a senior trial attorney in the Milwaukee office of the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, McBride has litigated employment discrimination cases throughout the Midwest. In 1996, the Federal Executives Association of Milwaukee recognized his contributions with its Community Service Award. He was elected Wauwatosa alderman in 2008, while also coordinating the Hedge School at Irish Fest, volunteering with the Wauwatosa School District and the state Retirement Board, and writing a newspaper blog. As a Wauwatosa alderman, he has been a leading advocate for the development of UWM's Innovation Park, located near Froedtert and the Medical College of Wisconsin. He has served four terms as a member of the UWM Alumni Association board of trustees, one term on the UWM board of visitors and one year as ex officio director of the UWM Foundation. In 1986, he was inducted into what is now UWM's Bud K. Haidet Athletics Hall of Fame.

Got some good news to share? We want to hear all about it. Send your announcements to Celebrations/NOW Newspapers, 1741 Dolphin Drive, Suite A, Waukesha 53186; or tonews@cninow.com .


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries