On the Move: Oct. 3

Oct. 3, 2011

Glenn Roby of Wauwatosa has been promoted to team leader of the Kahler Slater Business Environments team. Roby will be responsible for managing team operations and seeking new design opportunities in the corporate office, retail and mixed-use segments.

Cindy Christensen has been promoted to president of Children's Hospital of Wisconsin and executive vice president of Children's Hospital and Health System. She will retain her title of chief operating officer of the hospital.

Mount Mary College has added the following new full-time faculty members: Terri Jashinsky, graduate program in counseling; Melissa Kraemer Smothers, graduate program in counseling; Rachel Monaco-Wilcox, chair, Justice Department; and Kristen Roche, director, MBA program. The following people also have joined Mount Mary College: Lea Rosenberg, director, Campus Ministry; Michelle Smalley, director of advising and career development, and Janet McNight, controller. In addition, the following people have been named directors: Judy Borawski, director of graduate admissions, and Rachel Gonnering, director of undergraduate admissions.

Dr. Sam G. Pappas, assistant professor of surgical oncology, has been named the first Sharon K. Wadina Chair in Sarcoma Research at The Medical College of Wisconsin. In July 2010, Sharon Wadina, a West Allis resident, was diagnosed with sarcoma. By the time the cancer was identified, it had spread through her body. She was referred to the Froedtert & The Medical College of Wisconsin Clinical Cancer Center, where Pappas and Dr. T. Clark Gamblin, the Stuart D. Wilson Professor and Chief of Surgical Oncology, operated to remove the tumors, and Wadina recovered well. She generously invested $1 million to endow the Sharon K. Wadina Chair in Sarcoma Research while also supporting immediate research dedicated to improving outcomes for people diagnosed with soft tissue sarcoma.

Dr. Sam T. Hwang, chairman and professor of dermatology, has been named the first Thomas J. Russell Family/Milwaukee Community Dermatologists Chair of Dermatology at The Medical College of Wisconsin. Hwang, of Brookfield, has served as the chair of the department since 2008.

Dr. Dennis J. Maiman, professor and chairman of neurosurgery, has been named the first Sanford J. Larson Professor of Neurosurgery at The Medical College of Wisconsin. Maiman is an internationally recognized expert in spinal disorders and spinal cord injury.

Dr. Peter Layde, professor of emergency medicine, associate chair for global and public health, and co-director of the Injury Research Center, has been named the first Ombudsman of The Medical College of Wisconsin.


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries