Wauwatosa Library luncheon to honor Medical College professor

Area high school students also to be cited for leadership

March 5, 2013

The Wauwatosa Library Foundation has announced that bestselling author and neuroscientist David Eagleman will provide the keynote address for the Wauwatosa Public Library Leadership Luncheon at the Crowne Plaza in Wauwatosa on March 19.

In addition, internationally respected concussion expert Michael McCrea of the Medical College of Wisconsin has been named the 2012 Arthur B. Kohasky Leadership Award recipient.

This annual event recognizes the role the library plays in the community and brings in a leading author.

The event also honors area high school students and an adult whose leadership has had a positive impact on the community. Past Leadership Award winners include Chris Foley, Don Layden, Ray Perry, Peggy Rosenzweig, Tim Winn, Ann and Craig Larson, Jon Vice, Mary Ellen Stanek, Denise Lindberg, and Joe and Jennifer Bartolotta.

Student leadership

Receiving the student leadership awards this year are Katie Goodwin, Divine Savior Holy Angels High School; Benjamin Wojcicki, Marquette University High School; Hannah Dion-Kirschner, Wauwatosa East High School; John Mullooly, Pius IX High School; and Margaret Fuhrman, Wauwatosa West High School.

Student leadership award winners are selected by their schools, said Library Director Mary Murphy.

Keynote address

David Eagleman is a Guggenheim fellow and holds joint appointments in the Departments of Neuroscience and Psychiatry at Baylor College of Medicine, where he directs the Laboratory for Perception and Action. His influential and highly accessible neuroscience books include the New York Times bestseller "Incognito" and "Wednesday is Indigo Blue."

His first work of fiction, "Sum: Forty Tales from the Afterlives," was named a Barnes and Noble Best Book of the Year. He writes regularly for the New York Times, Wired, Discover, Slate and New Scientist and appears frequently on TV and radio to discuss his twin passions of science and literature.

McCrea honored

Michael McCrea is professor of neurosurgery and neurology and director of brain injury research with the Medical College of Wisconsin. An active researcher in the neurosciences, McCrea has been a leader in efforts to advance concussion testing among student and adult athletes. He is a member of the U.S. Department of Defense Health Board External Advisory Committee on Traumatic Brain Injury, advising the office of the Secretary of Defense on management of military-related traumatic brain injury. He is also a member of the National Football League's Head, Neck and Spine Committee and a participant in the International Olympic Committee conference on medicine and sport.

Registration for the luncheon March 19 begins at 11:30 a.m., with the program beginning at noon. Individual registrations are $45, with corporate sponsorships available. Attendees paying $125 receive a signed book. Proceeds benefit the Wauwatosa Public Library Foundation.

Sponsors of the even include American Transmission Company, Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek, S.C.; Robert W. Baird and Co., Inc.; BMO Harris Bank, Medical College of Wisconsin, PyraMax Bank, US Bank, WaterStone Bank, Fund Development Corporation, Beth Jaworski of Shorewest Realtors, The Lowe Group, Irgens Development Partners, Miron Construction, WISN Television and Care-a-lotta.


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries